Large-scale project on the high seas: Hochtief 1-4

The project area of the offshore wind farms Hochtief Offshore Development (HTOD) 1-4 comprises an area of over 300 square kilometers, on which some 340 wind turbines can be built. The wind farm areas are located in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) in the North Sea, between 160 and 200 kilometers off of the island of Borkum. Since the submission of the application documents at the Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency (BSH) in the summer of 2009, ENOVA has been developing projects in the Central German Bay.

In order to obtain approval, comprehensive, scientific environmental testing that adheres to the standard investigation concepts of the BSH are required. ENOVA has administered these since mid 2010 in the project areas NSWP 4-7. This encompasses the mapping of fish and benthos (micro-organisms in and on the seabed) as well as of birds and marine mammals, which took place using ships and aircrafts. In 2012, parallel site investigations took place. Soil samples were taken and cone penetration tests (CPTs) in the project areas were carried out to determine the sediment layers of the sea bed. Based on these results, initial statements on the sustainability of the seabed could be made.

The partial financing of extensive environmental studies for two of the wind farm areas, NSWP 4 + 5, was carried out by a private equity fund. As silent partners, interested investors had the opportunity to participate in the planning and development costs of offshore wind farms. The project rights of NSWP 4-7 were acquired in March 2012 by Hochtief Offshore Development Solutions S.à.rl.

» Possible total output: 2,700 MW » Number of possible turbines: 345 WEA » Distance to coast: 200 km off the German coast » Water depth: 40-50 meters » Status: in the approval process

Großprojekt auf hoher See: Hochtief 1-4

Das Projektgebiet der Offshore-Windparks Hochtief Offshore Development (HTOD) 1-4 umfasst insgesamt eine Fläche von mehr als 300 Quadratkilometern, auf denen rund 340 Windenergieanlagen errichtet werden können. Die Windparkflächen liegen in der Ausschließlichen Wirtschaftszone in der Nordsee (AWZ) in einer Entfernung zwischen 160 und 200 Kilometern vor Borkum. Seit dem Einreichen der Antragsunterlagen beim Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH) im Sommer 2009 entwickelt ENOVA die Projekte in der zentralen Deutschen Bucht.

Für die Erwirkung der Genehmigung sind umfangreiche, wissenschaftliche Umweltuntersuchungen nach den Standartuntersuchungskonzepten des BSH erforderlich. ENOVA führte diese bereits seit Mitte 2010 in den Projektgebieten NSWP 4-7 durch. In diesem Rahmen fanden Kartierungen für Fische und Benthos (Kleinstlebewesen im und am Meeresboden) sowie für Vögel und Meeressäuger per Schiff und Flugzeug statt. 2012 erfolgten parallel die Baugrunderkundungen. Hierbei wurden Bodenproben entnommen und Drucksondierungen in den Projektgebieten durchgeführt zur Bestimmung der Sedimentschichten des Meeresbodens. Auf Basis dieser Ergebnisse konnten erste Aussagen zur Tragfähigkeit des Meeresbodens und damit zu einem geeigneten Fundament getroffen werden.

Die Teilfinanzierung der umfangreichen Umweltuntersuchungen erfolgte für zwei der Windparkflächen, NSWP 4 + 5, über einen Beteiligungsfonds. Als stille Gesellschafter hatten interessierte Anleger die Möglichkeit, sich an den Planungs- und Entwicklungskosten der Offshore-Windparks zu beteiligen. Die Projektrechte von NSWP 4-7 wurden im März 2012 von Hochtief Offshore Development Solutions S.à.r.l erworben.

» Mögliche Gesamtleistung: ca. 2.700 MW
» Anzahl möglicher Anlagen: 345 WEA
» Entfernung zur Küste: ca. 200 km vor der deutschen Küste
» Wassertiefe: ca. 40-50 m
» Status: im Genehmigungsverfahren